Hard Workout With Headwind

On Thursday night I mounted my 28″ wheel back on my recumbent with a heavy duty tire. I wanted to try that set-up out off-road. Yesterday I took it to Coyote Valley Open Space, Northeast of Morgan Hill, and it worked out fine, although I must admit an upright bike with fat tires is better suited for this. I then headed up north towards San Jose on Santa Teresa boulevard. I was surprised how fast the bike felt, theoretically it should be slightly less aerodynamic than my set up with two 20″ wheels, although that might be offset because the 28″ rear wheel has a bit less rolling resistance. After about 90 minutes I turned around, and found a had a severe headwind to fight through to get home. So this turned into a pretty tough workout, with an average heart rate of 118. But I made it home ok. Surprisingly, my average speed was 12.6 mph which is a bit higher than I’ve been doing lately. So I guess 28/20 really is faster. Posted on Strava here.

Looking out on Coyote Valley from the open space. It was still gloomy this early in the ride but the sun came out later.

One thought on “Hard Workout With Headwind

Leave a comment