Longer Morning Ride

I’ve changed my schedule so Monday is my longest ride of the week. This is the ride I’ll be ramping up each week until I do a metric century some time later this month (one of two Strava challenges I signed up for in March). Yesterday’s ride (on Strava here) was 41 miles in just under 3 hours 30 minutes, leaving me pleasantly tired. I had meant this to be my first “Beaumont block” of the year, but had to cut it short because I had to fix a flat. I got this term from Mark Beaumont’s description of his round the world cycling record (The Man Who Cycled the World).

He achieved his amazing average daily mileage by riding four blocks of four hours each day, with a short break in between, and then one longer daily break. So I did almost one four hour block today. I don’t think I would have been ready to get back on the bike and do another block after a short break, that is something I’d have to work up to. I can see myself doing possibly two blocks. But not four, and certainly not averaging four for 78 days in a row which is what Mark did for the record.

Leave a comment