KOM On Coyote Creek

I finally got to the top of the leaderboard for the 70-74 age group on Strava for the segment I created. This goes from the visitor’s center on Coyote Creek trail, out to where the trail is closed off due to flooding just past Bailey Ave.

My first attempt on this segment took 58:34. As I mentioned previously, I got a good improvement by taking several measures like using stiffer cycling shoes, eating breakfast, and making sure my tires were firm, which resulted in 51:30. Yesterday was the fifth attempt since then, and I think the further incremental gains were due to improved fitness. This feels good as validation that my training is going well. This is a good length of effort, kind of equivalent to a 10K run. I’ll be tired for a couple of days then feel fine.

Leave a comment